Vision 3D Printer: Debugging Prints

Calibration Prints

Before printing anything real, it is useful to run some calibration prints.

Common calibration prints are cubes and lattice work:

NOTE: it may take you a few tries before you can even successfully print a full part. In my case, I didn’t first calibrate the extruder, so my prints failed with way too much plastic:

IMG_0129

 

See this blog post for steps to calibrate the extruder. After fixing the STEPS_PER_MM for the extruder and Z axis, my next calibration print looked like this:

IMG_0123 IMG_0125 IMG_0126

In this case, my tolerances are fine for large parts, but the detail isn’t so great, and there is a stepping problem in the X-axis:

IMG_0124

This looked due to the belt being too loose, so I tighten up the tensioner on it, and things are looking better, but I have yet to run another full calibration print.

Filament Keeps Jamming

My first real printer parts were large, and I wasn’t able to get through a complete print without the extruder jamming. After much digging online, my problem sounded like a tension issue with the filament. So I tightened up the hose clamp significantly, and now I’m printing jam free. So make sure you have enough tension on yours!

IMG_0122

 

Low Quality Prints For Small Objects

Things have been printing well so far, but all of a sudden my quality went way down:

IMG_0128 IMG_0127

 

What happened? It turns out that because I was only printing two really small parts, not enough time had passed between the extruder returning to the same place twice. Basically each layer printed so quickly, the plastic didn’t have enough time to cool down before the next layer was applied. There are two solutions you can implement to solve this. You can either add a fan and setup slic3r to turn it on (I’m about to do this as it seems like the preferred way). Or as a quick workaround, you can add a pause between each layer in slicer. Check out this reprap post for details on adding a pause.

4 thoughts on “Vision 3D Printer: Debugging Prints

  1. Ryan you don’t still have the G92 lines in your Slic3r Starter G Code do you. I think thats what overides the Marlin, Config.h settings.

    • Yeah, for all the STEPS_PER_MM values, I do override them in slic3r as Matt suggested. I found that it is much quicker to do any adjustments in slic3r than to reflash the firmware. I imagine once I have everything finely tuned, I will go back and put the final values into the Configuration.h.

      • ok, I get it. Not fully understanding what that starter G Code was doing in Slic3r, I was changing the values in Marlin, but not in Slic3r so my tweaking had no effect. Thanks.

      • Yeah, Basically, G-code allows you to override those values, so if you want to experiment with different ones, it is faster to change them in slic3r than in Marlin. I actually have a few different slic3r “printer settings” configs for trying out different stuff.

Leave a Reply

